Spring Tonic

     It’s the first full day of spring and I’m on vacation. I’m not going anywhere, but I am using the time for a personal self-spa, detoxification and re-energizing week.  So far I am on my third day of my detox diet cycle.

     Now, before I tell you about it, please understand that I cannot recommend this diet to anyone else. It was recommended for me by my kung-fu Sifu back in 2002 and though I no longer practice kung-fu, I still practice the detox diet because it just makes me feel so amazing, healthy and energetic! Please don’t try this at home without your Sifu’s advice.  Also, while I’m on the subject of disclaimers, I don’t have ANY idea where Sifu got this diet. So if it’s a patented or copyrighted regimen, just let me know and I’ll give credit where credit is due.  But please spare me if you think I got it wrong. Maybe it does not match the diet you THINK I’m trying to follow but it does match the instructions I was personally given so I’ll keep to my plan, thank you very much.

     Days 1, 2 and 3, I get to eat nothing but raw vegan food. That’s right; my entire diet consists of raw fruit, raw vegetables, seeds grains and nuts. I can soak my grains to make them soft (as in a tabouli salad) and I can use olive oil in small amounts. I can also drink plain tea, water and small amounts of plain soy milk. Oh yes, I can’t mix yin food and yang food in my stomach. They have to be eaten at least 2 hours apart.

     As I understand it, a yin food is anything that comes from a plant that dies down at the end of its season or has a dormant phase.  A yang food is anything that comes from a plant that constantly grows spreads and progresses without ever loosing its leaves.  For example, an apple tree is bare all winter so an apple is a yin food. (I’m getting sick of apples.) A banana tree keeps growing until it dies and never completely looses its leaves so a banana is a yang food. Get it?

     This makes it a real research project to make smoothies or salads.  Can I put pineapple in coconut milk with banana in a blender? Can I put avocado on my spinach salad?  I’ve been giving Wikipedia quite a workout over questions like this.  (In case you are wondering, the answers are yes and no respectively.)

     All the antioxidants, live enzymes and cleansing juices make the whites of my eyes VERY white and my hair and nails grow like crazy and my skin is bright and clear. But can we talk a moment about, um, poo?  Yeah, the idea is to get so much fiber and roughage that it scrapes the colon clean so you can better absorb the detoxifying “lemonade” in phase 2 of the cycle.  But . . . wow, that’s a lot of poo. I’m glad I invested in some really good, soft toilet paper. Surprisingly, there is no diarrhea, cramping, gas or other intestinal issues, just a LOT of poo. 

     Tomorrow I’m transitioning into the “lemonade” fast. So I’ll tell you about that later. Right now . . . I have to “go.”  <Blush>

To your health,

Angie

Published in: on March 21, 2010 at 10:02 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://taodiva.wordpress.com/2010/03/21/spring-tonic/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

