Oatmeal Anyone?

Ok, this is really embarrassing.  I used to do this cleansing fast ever 6 months or so while training in a very strenuous Kung-Fu program 2 hours or more at a time four days a week and practicing tai-chi on my “off” days. In other words, I was VERY athletic.

     Yesterday I awoke with mild symptoms of hypoglycemia, tremor and headache. I drank my cleansing “lemonade” because the formula includes an organic sugar source in order to maintain blood sugar while the lemon provides a gentle cleansing to the newly scraped and exposed walls of the digestive system.  Only it didn’t work. Headache got much worse and I went from tremors to clumsiness and was easily confused and disoriented.

     So I drank a little orange juice.  At this point my husband is very worried.  I give the orange juice some time to get into my system and still have all the symptoms of hypoglycemia.  So he talks me into some vegetarian vegetable soup, which I gratefully accept. After about 8 ounces, I’m feeling cognitively myself again and the headache is just a mild version of itself. So I get dressed and we go to the movies.

     That might not have been the best decision and Shutter Island might not have been the best choice of movie. I became nauseous, the headache returned strong as ever and I lost my ability to control my own body temperature. I began to wonder if it had nothing to do the cleansing diet at all and maybe I was coming down with the flu.  When we got home, Wayne tucked me into bed, gave me some more soup after my stomach settled and I slept for over an hour.

     I felt much better after waking up I had an ALT sandwich (that’s like a BLT but with avocado instead of bacon) I felt very much myself again. Headache was gone and I was able to concentrate and read. I still took it easy and, this morning, started my day with coffee and oatmeal.  Homemade fruit smoothie and salad for lunch and tonight for dinner, we’re having soy-burgers on whole grain buns.

     When you just plain eat healthy, maybe you don’t need a cleansing fast.  What am I trying to cleanse out anyway, Soy residue? <shrug> So, chalk one up for the “it seemed like a good idea at the time” department and move on.  Still, it does hit me that maybe I’m not as strong, and resilient as I once was.

     Maybe I just need to respect my (amazing, hot and lovely) 40-something-year-old body and just be nice to it.  I don’t mean “here have a chocolate sundae and watch TV” nice. I mean “enjoy a walk in the fresh air instead of a brutal workout” and “have some salad in a 100% whole grain pita instead of a three day fast” kind of nice.  Is that so bad?

     Buddha was right when he advised “the middle way.” The trick is finding the center. Lesson learned and thanks for the oatmeal.

~Angie

Published in: on March 24, 2010 at 7:15 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://taodiva.wordpress.com/2010/03/24/oatmeal-anyone/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

